Texas License Plate Laws
Texas Administration Code, Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, 217. Nineteen states no longer require a front license plate. Texas is the first state in the country to use dual security threads. Provides a waiver of driver’s license fees (except for individuals who have been convicted for certain sexual crimes) and license plate fees for veterans with a service-related disability rating of 60% or greater. To apply for a license plate, simply register your vehicle. Las Cruces License Plate (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424. eVIEW Form Submission; Texas Size / Weight Limits;. License plate transfer are free. Government owned or leased motor vehicles o U. How to Use the PhotoShield Cover. To begin your Texas license plate lookup, enter a first & last name in the form above. A statement that the institution, facility, or retirement community is licensed by a Texas state agency; Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (VTR-214) Provide facility number on the Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (VTR-214). The above named Common Law Citizen listed IS NOT OPERATING IN COMMERCE and as such is thereby EXEMPTED FROM THE REQUIREMENT OF A LICENSE AS SUCH. Collector vehicles are already exempt from the front license plate rule, according to the law. License plates are used to help identify your vehicle, and are required by law for security purposes. Registration Fees by Vehicle Type All vehicles must be registered to legally be driven in Iowa. (b) To renew a towing operator license, a licensee must complete a total of 4 hours of continuing education through Department-approved courses. In the Texas case, the license plate was sought by. The license itself is fairly inexpensive, and annual registration runs $30 a year plus county fees. License plate frames. Aug 31, 2013 · The mystery of the front plates in Texas came up when I mentioned it in a recent Watchdog report that the license plate law is a personal pet peeve. The laws were largely aimed at historic vehicles that lacked space for a front plate. Q: I’m relatively new to Washington State. TexasSure - What is vehicle insurance verification. No insurance, registration or license plates are required. To use the license plate lookup, choose a plate type and personalized message for the system to check. When I was pulled over, my information was not in TexasSure. States like Ohio and Texas require the presence of both plates and are the only states that don’t border another state with the same plate law. Senate Bill 1233 authorized the License Plate Advisory Committee to again develop designs for a new Missouri license plate. “Texas Parks & Wildlife – Hummingbird” special plate fee is also $30, and $22 of the plate fee goes to Texas Parks & Wildlife. Each of these cute car accessories is made of durable aluminum, and our eye-catching custom license plate front is water-resistant. Since 1934, Texas law has required that Texas motorists display a front and a rear license plate. Driver must wear a bicycle helmet. Multiple vehicles owned by the same official (up to 3) have a letter suffix. I want to avoid the hassle of being pulled over. If you want to make more than one plate then please Contact Us and we will provide you with an invoice for all products on 1 transaction. X (MV) Vehicle Code Section 5201 states that plates shall be mounted in a position to be clearly visible. , Staff Legislation to require the issuance of a single motor-vehicle license plate for attachment at the rear of the vehicle was introduced in the Texas House of Representatives. TYLER, TX (KLTV) - It's the law in Texas to have two license plates, one on the front of your car and one on the back. The bill was signed into law by the governor in June 2003. Ask A Cop Front license plate laws (Missouri/Illinois specifically) If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. Are License Plate Covers Illegal? Hey what's up guys and welcome back to Cops Court and Coffee, I'm Darnell Eason. This can be somewhat difficult if the license plate was issued in a faraway place. Occasionally license plate laws come up for debate in state governments. Provides a waiver of driver’s license fees (except for individuals who have been convicted for certain sexual crimes) and license plate fees for veterans with a service-related disability rating of 60% or greater. It covers such things as the number of plates issued, placement of license plates on a vehicle, mounting or framing a license plate, registration and renewal. Choose an official College Alumni Plate to rep your school in style while you drive to the tailgate or the office. RVIA assumes no responsibility for inaccuracies or omissions. Make people see your sense of humor. The new 2012 general issue base is being called the "Texas Classic" plate. New plates are issued each year. DPS does not inspect the license plate itself, but instead inspects the license plate lamp. The above named Common Law Citizen listed IS NOT OPERATING IN COMMERCE and as such is thereby EXEMPTED FROM THE REQUIREMENT OF A LICENSE AS SUCH. They amended TRC 543. So an owner wanting to take a Sunday drive better have a good excuse if questioned by law enforcement. Due to privacy laws, you may be unable to find all information you need about a license plate number and its owner online. Law Enforcement, Fire & Medical license plate, We make high quality license plates of your choice. Under Texas' specialty license plate system, plates can be created by the legislature by specific enactments, or can, for a fee, be designed by individuals, nonprofits or businesses. Go Search Watch Now: KTLA 5 News at 11 KTLA 5 TV Schedule Watch CW Shows. The expiration is set on all class of trailer plates, except for identification trailer plates. A report from Texas details a House Bill in the state legislature that would exempt luxury cars costing over $60,000 from needing a front license plate. How Many States Require Front License Plates? By in two-plate states from trying to change the law to require only one. Otherwise, a portion of the state's surface transportation funding is transferred to the state DOT or State Highway Safety Office. In the Texas case, the license plate was sought by. Novelty College License Plate Frames Show off your alma mater and support your team with cool College novelty license plates and frames. To apply for a license plate, simply register your vehicle. 109 and 321. 00 ID Renewal: $16. The database also includes a “hot list” of more than 1,100 license plates of subjects of interest, which triggers an alert every time the plates are picked up by a license plate reader. While we appreciate the proposed bill by Texas Rep. He then replied that he was with the understanding that the law has changed and that a front license plate is no longer required in Texas. (LE) Unlawful to cover a license plate in any matter, even if material is clear. The bill was signed into law by the governor in June 2003. gov works with contractors to provide various products and services required for the operation of Texas. (29) Specialty license plate fee--Statutorily or department required fee payable on submission of an application for a specialty license plate, symbol, tab, or other device, and collected in addition to statutory motor vehicle registration fees. If you can prove with registration paper that the plate was renewed the same day, can you get out of paying ticket in the state of Texas?. Specialty License Plates; Sponsoring a Specialty License Plate; Plate Auctions; eVIEW. Every purchased plate message is reviewed by the TxDMV following the sale. Black and White Drivers License Photos [HB 1345] Previously, Texas law stated that a drivers license must include “a color photograph of the entire face of the holder. Otherwise, a portion of the state's surface transportation funding is transferred to the state DOT or State Highway Safety Office. This variation was used from the "GTY" series of these plates through nearly the end of the series at ZZZ-99Z, with a break in between for a special plate issue in 1995-96. TexasSure, the vehicle insurance verification program, came about when the Texas Legislature directed the Texas Departments of Insurance, Public Safety, Motor Vehicles, and Information Resources to develop a system to reduce the number of uninsured motorists. After reading the article about Texas Drivers License Requirements, FMCA member Gary Kuba contacted FMCA about the renewal of a Texas noncommercial Class B driver license. Source: Texas Statutes §547. 404(a) requires a license plate to be displayed “at the front ․ of the vehicle. This system allows teens to gradually gain exposure to complex driving situations, easing them into driving over an extended period of time. But some car owners in East Texas are refusing to get front license plates and are running the risk of getting pulled over. When the rear license plate is illuminated by a lamp other than a required taillamp, the two lamps shall be turned on or off only by the same control switch at all times. Here, you can find information about surrendering a license plate, as well as information on how to introduce a new specialty plate. All Texas registered motor vehicles must have a front and rear license plate mounted on the most exterior part of the vehicle. plate Law enforcement may charge more than $100 for violators. If you currently pay a $3 annual plate fee, you will continue to pay the $3 plate fee and the state’s portion of the inspection fee if it is due. Driver's License Status Inquiry; Driver's License Renewal; Identification Card Renewal; Official Driving Record; CDL Official Driving Record; CDL Medical Inquiry; CDL Self-Certification Inquiry; Commercial Driving School Information; Third Party Testers. If vehicles have license plates, there is a government agency that issues those plates and tracks them. To determine the difference between a license and a lease, we look at:. (2) If the vehicle has no windshield, the symbol, tab, or other device prescribed by and issued by the department shall be attached to the rear license plate, except that registration receipts, retained inside the vehicle, may provide the record of registration for vehicles with permanent trailer plates. This video discusses the US Millworks front license plate bracket. the obscurity law only applies to things physically attached to the license plate itself, such as a sticker, or covering. 16 (UPI) -- A Texas law mistakenly omitting a $200 fine for driving a vehicle without license plates possibly jeopardizes the enforcement of related laws, officials said. Yes, that's right: surprising though it may be, nearly every jurisdiction has a law against blocking out the state name, the state slogan, and the license plate's expiration date. When the rear license plate is illuminated by a lamp other than a required taillamp, the two lamps shall be turned on or off only by the same control switch at all times. Texas Lawmaker Wants to Get Rid of Front License Plates—But Only for Fancy Cars Representative Ken King's bill would add "luxury passenger cars" with price tags over $60,000 to the list of. As a result, you will need to switch to a Texas license plate, so why not choose a design and a message you want. military may list an out-of-state DL # or military ID #. All 50 United States License Plates, Ranked. Report the license plate theft, obtain a police report, report your stolen palte to your State DMV, and obtain a new tag. The SearchQuarry. Are License Plate Covers Illegal? Hey what's up guys and welcome back to Cops Court and Coffee, I'm Darnell Eason. License Plate Obstruction Information. Just choose your plate from any country, state or province, enter your custom personalized number or message, review and add to shopping cart. Every state that borders Texas no longer requires a front license plate. Page 2 of 3 < Prev 1 2 3 Next > Sep 16, 2013. My Plates tours the Wynne Unit, a medium-security prison in Huntsville, TX. Every shift in Chandler, police officers in cars equipped with special cameras can be seen driving up and down every street in a neighborhood, gathering data on every vehicle in the area. The trailer has to be used for transporting crops, livestock or farm equipment. The Supreme Court refused to intervene on South Carolina's behalf a decade ago after a lower court blocked "Choose Life" license plates there. For your reading pleasure, the full manual is included at the bottom of the page where you can chose to save it, e-mail it, or print it out. S 28”“2354 states (in part): A person shall display all license plates as required by subsection A until their lawful use expires or […]. 33 states and 3 territories have open container laws which meet federal requirements. Counties must exhaust their remaining supply of the 2009 base before issuing them. 1 Questions & Answers Place. As a result, you will need to switch to a Texas license plate, so why not choose a design and a message you want. You can also replace license plates and use the TX DMV license plate lookup for personalized plate options. (SDCL 32-5-65 ; 32-5-65. Farmers and Equestrians Get Breaks. I had a 76 Chevy camaro (last camaro with Chrome bumpers). Texas Exempt license plate number 272-458 is seen below as an example of the last issuance with the star. But I wonder if I can put my front plate in my windshield, I was thinking of attaching it to the windshield with suction cups, what do you all think?. Vehicle license plate placement laws vary by state and can change at any time. Dimensions: year sticker -1" x 2", month sticker-1-3/4" x 2". You may also register a historic vehicle with a historic license plate, and a collector vehicle may be registered with a historic plate or an authentic model year license plate that was issued by Indiana in the same year as the model year of your vehicle. Screw license plate back on to car with PhotoShield Cover on top. The threads, which run vertically through the plate, allow law enforcement to. Law Enforcement, Fire & Medical license plate, We make high quality license plates of your choice. Issuance and Use of Suppressed Motor Vehicle Licenses Sec. 00 Driver License with Motorcycle Class Renewal: $33. Personalized plates are typically the standard North Carolina license plates with a customized license plate number. (b) Subject to Section 504. Rick Snyder signed a series of bills into law on Tuesday, including a measure that will require motorists to replace their license plate every 10 years. Continue reading the sections below to learn about how to obtain a license plate in Texas, including renewals, replacements, transfers and all associated fees. Before you install any plate cover, it is a good idea to check local laws for road legal vehicles. DPS does not inspect the license plate itself, but instead inspects the license plate lamp. Unlike antiques, which cannot be used for regular transportation or carry advertising, classic license plates require a vehicle to be fully registered like any other vehicle, allowing it to be operated on any roadway. Shop Texas Law Chrome License Plate Frame from CafePress. But some car owners in East Texas are refusing to get front license plates and are running the risk of getting pulled over. Awarded "Plate of the Year" for best new standard-issue license plate of 1995 by the Automobile License Plate Collectors Association, the first and, to date, only time Texas has been so honored. Customers that are concerned about this might want to get their actual plate numbers on the plate and not custom text. Senator Ben Hueso (D-San Diego) announced today that Governor Brown signed the Electronic License Plate Pilot Program extension bill into law. In researching the front license plate law I found a lot of conflicting information on the requirements of how and where the front license plate can be put on a car that is registered in Texas. A simple search license plate owner on InfoTracer could reveal the owner's name, owner's contact info, traffic court records, criminal driving violations, arrest records, vehicle identification number, vehicle title information, and much more. If the vehicle does not have a windshield, the DMV will issue a sticker for attachment to the rear license plate. Requests for this registration plate must be submitted through the Pennsylvania Department of Military and Veteran Affairs, Bureau of Veteran Affairs Office, Bldg. Only 31 of the 50 states require license plates on the front and rear of a vehicle, but Texas is one of them. Here are the license plates that have been recently rejected. For truck campers with an overhang in the rear, the truck’s license plate is difficult to see. The requirements for Texas license plates are addressed in Title 7, Chapter 502 of the Texas Transportation Code. The vehicle from which the plates are to be transferred must have been sold, traded, junked, or otherwise disposed of. gov price is: Driver License Renewal: $25. Numerous times I would have been able to get someone's license plate (e. License Plate Display Top ↑ Nevada law requires most vehicles to display front and rear license plates at all times, except motorcycles and trailers, which require only a rear plate. What Are the Laws Regarding Looking up License Plate Numbers? It is generally illegal for anyone other than a member of law enforcement to run a license plate check on someone else. 2357, license plate laws have become quite blurred and distorted. Despite the fact that every state bordering Texas requires only one plate, Section 504. An estimated 925,000 Texans have a concealed carry license and may choose to open carry. , Monday – Friday, with continuous service. Plate Replacement. Other information, including Model Year Law, Kansas County Codes, Contact Info and more, can be accessed by clicking on the links in the blue bar at the top of this page. Mississippi Gun Owners - Community for Mississippi Guns and Laws Forums > The Water Cooler > Round Table > Texas Nixes the Rebel flag license plate. plate Law enforcement may charge more than $100 for violators. Personalize your license plate or get a plate with a special background design. 2017 TX HB276 (Text) Relating to the number of license plates to be issued for and displayed on certain motor vehicles. As Texans make plans to celebrate the Fourth of July with picnics, parades, grilling a favorite dish or using fireworks, Texas A&M Forest Service encourages everyone to be careful with outdoor activities that may cause a spark. License Plate Laws. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, current law mandates the display of two license plates -- one at the front and another at the rear of a vehicle. "The state of Texas etches its name onto each license plate and Texas law gives the state sole. Supreme Court held that Texas’ specialty license plate designs constitute government speech. If you include the International Symbol of Access, you will reduce the number of characters you can display on your plate by two. 14 that a motorist driving a vehicle with part of its license plate covered is violating the law. of towing vehicle without a special license, but once the setup exceeds or equals 26,000 lbs. In 2015, Wyoming passed a law, similar to Nevada, that does not require a front license plate on vehicles that either are not specifically designed to have a front plate, or the manufacturer did not provide a plate bracket or other means for front display of a license plate. 240SX/Silvia/S12 200SX Altima/Stanza. Our team of Fort Worth criminal defense attorneys are former state and federal prosecutors who have become highly-regarded criminal defense attorneys. The new 2012 general issue base is being called the "Texas Classic" plate. But now a Canadian man wants to undo Texas' two-plate law — but only for a designated class of Texans: those with higher-dollar cars. Due to privacy laws, you may be unable to find all information you need about a license plate number and its owner online. Since the program began in 1996, the tax deductible royalties paid on K-State License plates have raised more than $4. One form of identification is required, and you must have the license plate and/or vehicle identification number. From 1907 until the middle of 1917 Texas license plates were not provided by the state. By law in every state, including Texas, vehicle license plates cannot be sold off to another person, since they are tied to you and your car's information only. ” Texas traffic code, section 502. The covers, which can be purchased online for as little as $6, allow the plates to remain visible but hide plate numbers on pics taken by toll and red-light cameras. Every shift in Chandler, police officers in cars equipped with special cameras can be seen driving up and down every street in a neighborhood, gathering data on every vehicle in the area. A reverse Texas license plate lookup can help you to quickly and easily identify the owner of a license plate you may see on a suspicious vehicle or one that appears to be breaking the law. “The state of Texas etches its name onto each license plate and Texas law gives the state sole. A Texas custom car registration, as well as antique license plates, are necessary for owners of these types of vehicles to stay in accordance with the applicable motor vehicle laws. However, from an angle it is slightly blurry. This law prevents most people from researching the owner of a vehicle using a license plate number in most instances but there are many exceptions. Page 2 of 3 < Prev 1 2 3 Next > Sep 16, 2013. Many License Plate Covers are Illegal in Texas If you add anything to your license plate, you could be violating Texas law and inviting unwanted police contact and a potential ticket. 115 through 321. Continue reading the sections below to learn about how to obtain a license plate in Texas, including renewals, replacements, transfers and all associated fees. Considering the multitude of designs,. Petitioning Texas State Senate and Texas House to pass a bill that will make Texas a "One License Plate" State. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals held on Feb. The Division of Motor Vehicles is responsible for making sure your personalization is not offensive or already used by someone else. Person license plates. Automated/automatic license plate readers (ALPRs) capture computer-readable images that allow law enforcement to compare plate numbers against plates of stolen cars or cars driven by individuals wanted on criminal charges. Las Cruces License Plate (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424. Qualifications and fee are the same as for the Oassic License Plate. Law Enforcement, Fire & Medical license plate, We make high quality license plates of your choice. Personally identifiable information may be shared with these contractors if necessary in connection with the transactions, in connection with maintenance and improvements to the Texas. X (MV) Vehicle Code Section 5201 states that plates shall be mounted in a position to be clearly visible. Taylor Prickett, Finance Manager at Patterson Volkswagen. Make people see your sense of humor. Unfortunately, the plate design was not favored by law enforcement, and some Texans complained the plate's colors clashed with their vehicle color. A "Texas exempt license plate" refers to registration of a vehicle in Texas that does not require fee payment for registration. It is no longer valid and is at least three. When a front license plate is not required. The Texas Department of Public Safety is another agency that keeps driving and license plate related records in Texas. Vehicle license plate placement laws vary by state and can change at any time. A report from Texas details a House Bill in the state legislature that would exempt luxury cars costing over $60,000 from needing a front license plate. States like Ohio and Texas require the presence of both plates and are the only states that don't border another state with the same plate law. Texas License Plates. MAIL your completed application copy of your valid Texas Liability Insurance *for the golf cart* and a copy of your drivers license to City Hall, 710 W Avenue A, Port Aransas, TX 78373. in various states? It's always bugged me that SO many cars on the road have something other than four small bolts on them. Colors are a reflective white background with a highly detailed Texas State Flag and white letters TX in the left corner of the plate. Please review your results carefully. License Plate Display Top ↑ Nevada law requires most vehicles to display front and rear license plates at all times, except motorcycles and trailers, which require only a rear plate. But if you don't read up on the laws in your state, these products may also be a good way to get a ticket. Before 2012 the law said you had to have a front and back license plate. Supreme Court in the near future. It is the first license plate in the country to feature two, high-visibility security threads embedded into the plate sheeting, making it easier for law enforcement to spot legitimate plates. License Plate Frame Laws Texas Uncategorized January 19, 2019 0 wajidi Click here for photographs of vehicles in violation the traffic laws click image for larger version name plate frame jpg views 14634 size altering license plate size. 21 License Plate Lamp. Texas is a two-plate state, which means drivers are supposed to have a license plate on the front and back of their vehicle. no place to put a front license plate. License Plate Frames and the Law License plate frames are not typically standard equipment on a vehicle, but they are a pretty standard accessory. Texas law requires all vehicles registered in the state to have both a front and rear license plate. Issued to Texas members of the US Senate. While in law school at Texas Tech, he ran a nationally-syndicated blog and his articles have been featured in the Wall Street Journal Blog, the ABA Journal Blog, Above the Law, and many other publications. A motorcycle license in Texas will cost between $8–$33 depending on the type. Texas game wardens and other law enforcement officers cracking down on drinking while boating jail time and the loss of a driver’s license, officials said. Requests for this registration plate must be submitted through the Pennsylvania Department of Military and Veteran Affairs, Bureau of Veteran Affairs Office, Bldg. Out-Of-State Texas Visitors If you're a nonresident or from out-of-state, you are required to have a Texas fishing license or permit to legally fish in the state. The expiration is set on all class of trailer plates, except for identification trailer plates. This plate was a continuation of the above "Flag" base, with the slogan "The Lone Star State" added at the bottom. 11 Controversial Vanity License Plates. License Plate options for Classic or Antique Vehicles By Rod Hemmick For many people, part of the pride of ownership of a Classic or Antique vehicle or Street Rod is being able to display license plates on their vehicle that are not the "standard current issue" type that you find on every other car on the road. 240SX/Silvia/S12 200SX Altima/Stanza. Click on a license type to get started. Driver shall not operate on public road with a speed limit of 25 mph or more, unless it is operated in a bike lane. Sounds like we need to get vanity plates!. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals held on Feb. Schroeder stopped Appellant because he believed the lack of a front license plate or the "obscured" rear license plate violated Texas law. Texas is one of 31 states that requires a front license plate in addition to the rear plates, according to the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Department of Public Safety. com and eBay are a great place to find this part. Numerous specialty license plates are available. When the BOC was enacted in 2003, it replaced a handful of other laws that governed LLCs, including the Texas Limited Liability Company Act, the Texas Revised Limited Partnership Act, and the Texas Revised Partnership Act. The mystery of the front plates in Texas came up when I mentioned it in a recent Watchdog report that the license plate law is a personal pet peeve. AUSTIN, Texas, Nov. ” The Texas. The current law requiring two plates can be found here: TRANSPORTATION CODE CHAPTER 504. Motorcycle License Plate Laws Texas Uncategorized February 21, 2019 0 masuzi Here are some pics from diffe side angles and directly behind passenger on a motorcycle click image for larger version name new plate bracket jpg views 15418 size texas motorcycle registration. Texas Exempt license plate number 272-458 is seen below as an example of the last issuance with the star. Just a heads up to those of us here in Texas. That could apply to vast stretches of beautiful Texas landscape, steak dinners, and possibly even … More Texas Bill Would Nix Front License Plate Law For Pricey Cars Videos This entry was posted in Car News on February 6, 2019 by adminauto. To apply for a license plate, simply register your vehicle. Now you can add Texas to the growing list of states that want to eliminate the requirement for front license plates – at least on certain vehicles. This license plate applies to self propelled vehicles and trailers equipped as temporary human living quarters. Authentic license plate A special provision in law allows a historical vehicle owner to use an authentic Michigan license plate from the same year the historical vehicle was manufactured. Smith County's license plate. And some are more strict than what's enforced. The remaining 31 states that do require both plates usually refer to law enforcement for their reasoning. It is the first license plate in the country to feature two, high-visibility security threads embedded into the plate sheeting, making it easier for law enforcement to spot legitimate plates. Is this a legit reason for the cop to pull me over?. The Law front license plate bracket is manufactured using SolidWorks computer designs, and precision state-of-the-art laser waterjet and laser aircraft grade aluminum and stainless steel. Please review your results carefully. TYLER, TX (KLTV) - It's the law in Texas to have two license plates, one on the front of your car and one on the back. *This guidance is referenced in TXDOT's requirements to properly display the registration certificate. Plates may not be displayed on a vehicle with a gross weight equal to or exceeding 26,000 lbs. Please review your results carefully. 1969 was the first year for plate reflectorization in Texas. LP-2109 ROUTE 66 Texas Novelty State Background Vanity Metal License Plate Tag 5nytoNtn Sign licence lisence license plate metal car sign yutio67 ghj90 6" x 12" standard NtNdxKL9jU automotive aluminum metal novelty license plate with 4 holes for easy QtWExAh mounting. Information about Personalized and Special License Plates Replacing Plates and Stickers California License Plate Data (1914-1972) ( PDF ) (sub-document within larger listing ). Ask A Cop Front license plate laws (Missouri/Illinois specifically) If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. 124 and are to be paid to the county treasurer’s office in the county of residence. Collector vehicles are already exempt from the front license plate rule, according to the law. Since the program began in 1996, the tax deductible royalties paid on K-State License plates have raised more than $4. The remaining 31 states that do require both plates usually refer to law enforcement for their reasoning. Registration Fees by Vehicle Type All vehicles must be registered to legally be driven in Iowa. Incorrect fees will delay your dealer license approval process. Driver shall not operate on public road with a speed limit of 25 mph or more, unless it is operated in a bike lane. (1) illuminates the rear license plate; and (2) makes the plate clearly legible at a distance of 50 feet from the rear. License Plate Frames and the Law License plate frames are not typically standard equipment on a vehicle, but they are a pretty standard accessory. Texas License Plate Laws.